Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) Course 2024

Home / Blog / Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) Course 2024
Certified Information Systems Auditor
naukricyber09 Blog 0

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)?

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) gives the designation that is Certified Information Systems Auditors (CISA). CISA designation can achieved by those only who have standard knowledge of information systems with professionalism. Additionally, they should know about particularly auditing, security, and controls. A CISA holder has the knowledge and technical skills to face modern challenges for their organization with full competence.

key takeaways

  • If you want to get a CISA designation you must pass the comprehensive examination. After passing you can get industry work experience differently. 
  • It is necessary to get a CISA designation, you must have five years of experience. To maintain your designation you will undergo 20 hours of training per year. 
  • Every domain has a different weightage in the CISA Exam. There are five domains in this exam. In this examination, you should get a 450+ score to continue your CISA designation. 
  • You will get 4 hours for this exam.
CISA course

Understanding Certified Information Systems Auditors (CISA)

Responsibilities of a Certified Information Systems Auditor

Certified information systems auditors are often in charge of evaluating a company’s technology-related systems and assessing the company’s set-up for vulnerabilities. The CISA will often be tasked with implementing an audit strategy to review potential risk areas, as well as executing and overseeing that audit.

CISA is also often heavily involved in pre-and post-audit processes. Before conducting any testing, CISA will evaluate a company’s objectives, systems, and risks to better understand its potential weaknesses and strengths. Following the audit, CISA reports the audit results and often makes recommendations to management for action.

If suggestions are approved and adopted by management, CISA will often be involved in the implementation and monitoring of security upgrades. This includes performing new tests after implementing recommendations or ensuring that management has followed control changes.

In addition to overseeing audits, CISAs will often have less formal projects with management on reviewing practices, creating risk strategies, creating continuity plans, and monitoring IT personnel. CISA may also be responsible for drafting and maintaining updated IT policies, standards, or procedures.

Way to Become a Certified Information Systems Auditor

There are five steps to becoming a CISA:

1. Pass the CISA exam. 

2. Submit an Application.

3. Adhere to ISACA’s.

4. Meet CPE Requirements. 

5. Follow the ISACA’s Information Systems

Certified Information Systems Auditor Exam

There will be an exam of 150 multiple-choice questions, it gives 4 hours for every candidate and you must score 450+ out of 800. If you want to appear in this exam, you should pay a fee in advance that will be valid for 12 months. You can appear in this exam in June, September, or December at testing centers of ISACA worldwide. The examination will be held in multiple languages.

CISA Exam Materials

The CISA exam tests candidates’ knowledge of five job practice domains:

  1. The Process of Auditing Information Systems (21%).
  2. Government and Management of IT (17%). 
  3. Information Systems Acquisition, Development, and Implementation (12%). 
  4. Information Systems Operations and Business Resilience (23%).
  5. Protection of Information Assets (27%).

Certified Information Systems Work Experience Requirements

CISA candidates must have at least five years of professional experience in information systems auditing, controls, or security. There are several work experience substitutions and exemptions up to a maximum of three years that candidates can satisfy.

  • Maximum one year experience in information systems auditing or one year experience in non-information systems auditing.
  • Sixty to 120 full university semester credit hours. (Sixty credit hours replace one year of work experience, while 120 credit hours replace two years of work experience.)
  • You should have a master’s degree from ISACA-accredited university in information technology or security. 
  • A university sponsoring ISACA programs takes a Bachelor’s degree or Master’s. 

University instructors should have two years of experience in computer science, information systems auditing, or accounting.

Certified Information Systems Auditor Continuing Professional Education

To ensure that professionals holding the CISA designation keep their knowledge of information systems, auditing, and controls up to date, they are required to undergo a minimum of 20 hours of training per year and 120 hours over three years. ISACA charges an annual maintenance fee of $45 for members and $85 for non-members to renew their CISA certification.

A broad range of ways CISAs can earn these continuing education credits that have ISACA communicated. This includes attending specific conferences, completing an ISACA Training Week course, performing online training certified by the ISACA, attending specific tech education events, or completing on-demand learning.

To manage and report their own CPE hours, we can expect from every CISA holder. There, users can add new CPE records, enter training or educational details, and enter the number of CPEs earned.

Benefits of Certified Information Systems Auditor Certification

By demonstrating professional qualifications, CISA holders receive some different benefits:

  • IT auditors are a niche market. 
  • Demand for certified IT auditors remains strong. 
  • CISAs remain relevant in this emerging industry. 
  • Certification may bring higher salaries or stronger job security. 
  • The certificate is transferable and widely recognized. 
  • The exam provides insight into specific areas.

How do I become a Certified Information Systems Auditor?

You must pass an examination administered by ISACA to become a CISA, meet application requirements, and earn continuing education credits upon achieving certification. You must act by ISACA’s ethical and business standards.

Time Spent to Become a Certified Information Systems Auditor- 

If you want to achieve CISA designation at least it takes five years because the ISACA requires half a decade of professional experience upon your application. There will be some exceptional rules and some candidates may apply with relaxation. And educational requirements that may be a part of the certification process.

What work of Certified Information Systems Auditor-

CISA oversees, manages, and protects a company’s information systems, IT, or related departments. This includes auditing processes and products, performing risk mitigation techniques to prevent security breaches, and collaborating with other departments to ensure that their technical needs are met without compromising security or creating system vulnerabilities.


The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification demonstrates professional proficiency in the area of IT security and risk mitigation. CISA must have years of professional experience and pass a 150-question exam to demonstrate this knowledge. Once equipped with a CISA license, auditors can enjoy greater job security, better knowledge of their industry, and continued development through CPE requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *