How Does Government Influence Cyber Security Job Markets?

Home / Blog / How Does Government Influence Cyber Security Job Markets?
Cyber Security Job
naukricyber09 Blog 0

Elements of a National Cybersecurity Strategies

There Are the 5 Elements of Successful National Cybersecurity Strategies:

  • Dedicated national cybersecurity agencies. (NCA)
  • A National Critical Infrastructure Protection Program. (NCIPP)
  • A National incident happens which responds and recovers their plans
  • A defined law pertaining to all cybercrimes.
  • A vibrant cybersecurity ecosystem.

A Framework of Cybersecurity Laws

They should be focused on 2 success factors:

Robust substantive and procedural cybersecurity laws:  Governments need to decide on which aspects of cybersecurity they want to legislate and which of the aspects they want to provide guidance on without necessarily imposing any legal penalties. One good option is that while developing national cybersecurity laws is to embrace the guidelines laid out by the Budapest Convention—an international treaty governing the cyber laws that are agreed upon by more than 60 countries.

International cooperation and collaboration: The transnational nature of cybercrime makes it critical for governments to participate in global forums, establish intelligence- and threat-sharing partnerships with other countries, and collaborate on preventing and investigating cybercrime.

CyberSecurity Job

What Is the Role of the Government in Cyber Security?

In India, the Government’s role in enforcing the data privacy and cyber security regulations is that of a policy maker. To guarantee that businesses manage personal information responsibly and to preserve the privacy and security of people’s data, the Government has passed the rules and regulations.

What Can the Government Do to Improve Cyber Security?

Help conduct capabilities, risk, vulnerability, and impact assessments. Scan the networks for threats and provide the corrective actions that Develop a strategy by applying in the industry knowledge. That Provided rigorous, ongoing training and awareness initiatives.

There Are 4 Hallmark Components That Can Serve as a Foundation for Your Mitigation Plans:

1. Make Cybersecurity a Priority

  • Managing the cyber risk should be the first priority for the highest levels of a government entity. 
  • The consequences of a breach include those related to national security and election integrities and the resources demanded, which could be disastrous. 
  • Leaders should bring together the most appropriate stakeholders to implement a holistic cyber risk management program.

2. Secure the Weakest Link

The weakest link in a cybersecurity chain is often the employee using a computer or mobile device connected to the organizational network that regularly performs the exercises with staff to keep them updated on cyber threats and how they should be responded to.

3. Build a Culture of Cyber Preparedness

  • The Cybersecurity Capability Model (C2M2) is a tool that helps organizations evaluate and improve their cybersecurity efforts.
  • One essential resource in this effort is the National Institutes of Standards and Technologies.  Cybersecurity Framework (CSF).
  • The CSF and its affiliating self-assessment toolkits help organizations set back benchmarks, identify priorities, implement risk management tactics, measure improvement, and adopt the appropriate changes. 
  • Using this approach, the government entities can help the drivers to get their preparedness to a level that can meet the current threat landscape.

4. Enlist Third-Party Expertise

  • To help conduct capabilities, risk, vulnerability, and impact the assessments
  • Scan the networks for threats and provide corrective actions
  • To Develop a strategy by applying industry knowledge
  • To Provide rigorous, ongoing training and awareness initiatives.

Government Branches That Depend on Cybersecurity

As online technologies and cyber threats become more sophisticated, the government needs cybersecurity professionals to safeguard documents and computer networks. While each role is different from the other government cybersecurity jobs require at least a bachelor’s degree and related work experience.

Need for Cyber Security

1. Digital India and Demonetization – 

  • The government’s initiatives such as Digital India and demonetization have pushed the companies towards digital transformation, doing so has also made them vulnerable to cyber-attacks. 
  • In turn, this has led to a demand for cybersecurity professionals who can help companies achieve digital transformation without compromising security.

2. General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)

  • Although the GDPR didn’t go into effect until late May 2018, companies worldwide have been preparing to safeguard their database from cyber crimes and comply with GDPR rules. This has driven a need for cybersecurity experts.

Who Does the Government Use for Cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)

Which Country Is the Leader in Cyber Security?

The United States

What Are the 4 P’s of Cyber Security?

  • The Bringing People, Processes, Policies, and the Partners together to build a cyber risk-aware culture.
  • Technology controls are an important pillar of any cyber security strategy, whether it be small to medium businesses, larger organizations, or government agencies.

What Are the 4 Domains of Cyber Security?

Application security, physical security, risk assessment, and threat intelligence.

Which Country Pays Highest Salary for Cyber Security?

Average Salary: 109,418

What Are the 7 Layers of Cyber Security?

  • Human Layer: The human layers, often regarded as the most vulnerable layers, focus on the human elements within an organization.
  • Perimeter Security Layer: The Perimeter security layer is akin to the walls of a fortress. It protected the networking sites by controlling the incoming and outgoing traffic based on an organization’s previously established security policies.
  • The Network Layer: The network layer is beneficial in managing and protecting the communications between the applications and the devices on your networking sites.
  • The Application Security Layer: This layer focuses on keeping the software and the devices free of threats. Secure coding practices are vital here, as vulnerabilities in the application can serve as the entry points for cyber threats.
  • The Endpoint Security Layer: The endpoint security layers concentrate on safeguarding the individual devices that are connected to the networking sites, like computers, smartphones, and tablets.
  • The Data Security Layer: Encryption is a prime example of a data security measure, where the sensitive data is converted into a coded format to prevent unauthorized access.
  • Mission-Critical Assets: This layer focuses on safeguarding the assets that are crucial to an organization’s operations and business continuity.
  • These could include proprietary software, sensitive customer data, or essential hardware.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *